Play Report: A Journey to Rhosgobel

Reader Francois Germain posted in the comments of A Journey to Rhosgobel that he was having trouble getting the deck to work, so I decided to record a turn by turn account so you could all get a feel for how the deck is supposed to work. It took me three tries to get a win (darn you Ungoliant’s Spawn!) but I would say that this turned out to be a pretty typical victory against A Journey to Rhosgobel with this deck. Enjoy!

Turn 1: Stage 1 (0 / 8)

the-wounded-eagle-1b

Opening Hand: Healing Herbs, Waters of Nimrodel, Blade of Gondolin, Elven Mail, Heed the Dream, Daeron’s Runes
I decide not to mulligan.

Setup: I take control of Wilyador and deal 2 damage to him (2 / 20). I add Rhosgobel and a Goblin Eagle-hunter to the staging area.

Resource: I draw Foe-hammer. (Hand: Healing Herbs, Waters of Nimrodel, Blade of Gondolin, Elven Mail, Heed the Dream, Daeron’s Runes, Foe-hammer)

Planning: I spend 1 from Legolas to play Blade of Gondolin on him. I play Healing Herbs on Argalad.

Quest: I commit Aragorn and Wilyador to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Noxious Supplies, a Condition Treachery that attaches to Wilyador and reduces the next amount he is healed to 1, and Surges into another copy of Goblin Eagle-hunter. (Staging area: Rhosgobel, Goblin Eagle-hunter 1, Goblin Eagle-hunter 2) I exhaust Argalad to deal 1 damage to Goblin Eagle-hunter 1 (1 / 5) and cancel its threat. 3 willpower – 3 threat = 0 progress.

Travel: I cannot travel to Rhosgobel due to its Travel effect.

Encounter: I choose not to engage any Enemies.

Combat: At the end of the phase, each Goblin Eagle-hunter deals a damage to Wilyador (4 / 20).

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 31.

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (6 / 20).

Turn 2: Stage 1 (0 / 8)

Resource: I draw Lembas. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Elven Mail, Heed the Dream, Daeron’s Runes, Foe-hammer, Lembas)

Planning: I play Daeron’s Runes to draw Bow of the Galadhrim and Galadhrim Minstrel and discard Elven Mail. I pay 1 from Aragorn and 1 from Argalad to play Galadrhim Minstrel, who allows me to search the top 5 cards of my deck for Goblin-cleaver. I spend 1 from Legolas to attach Bow of the Galadhrim to Legolas. I spend 1 from Aragorn to attach Lembas to Aragorn.

Quest: I commit Galadrhim Minstrel, Aragorn, and Wilyador to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Dark-wood Grove. (Staging area: Rhosgobel, Goblin Eagle-hunter 1, Goblin Eagle-hunter 2, Dark-wood Grove) I exhaust Argalad to deal 1 damage to Goblin Eagle-hunter 1 (2 / 5) and cancel its threat. 4 willpower – 6 threat = I increase my threat by 2 to 33.

Travel: I travel to Dark-wood Grove.

Encounter: I engage Goblin Eagle-hunter 1.

Combat: I exhaust Blade of Gondolin to play Goblin-cleaver and deal 3 damage to Goblin Eagle-hunter 1 (5 / 5), destroying it. At the end of the phase, Goblin Eagle-hunter 2 deals 1 damage to Wilyador (7 / 20).

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 34.

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (9 / 20).

Turn 3: Stage 1 (0 / 8)

Resource: I draw Lore of Imladris. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Heed the Dream, Foe-hammer, Lore of Imladris)

Planning: I spend 1 from Argalad to play Heed the Dream, which lets me search the top 5 cards of my deck for Hands Upon the Bow.

Quest: I commit Galadrhim Minstrel, Aragorn, and Wilyador to the quest.

Staging: I reveal The Necromancer’s Reach, a Treachery which deals 1 damage to each exhausted character: Galadhrim Minstrel (1 / 1) [destroyed], Aragorn (1 / 5), and Wilyador (10 / 20). (Staging area: Rhosgobel, Goblin Eagle-hunter) I exhaust Argalad to deal 1 damage to Goblin Eagle-hunter (1 / 5) and cancel its threat. 3 willpower – 1 threat = 2 progress on Dark-wood Grove (2 / 4)

Travel: Dark-wood Grove is the Active Location.

Encounter: I choose not to engage any Enemies.

Combat: I spend 1 from Legolas to play Hands Upon the Bow, exhausting Legolas to attack Goblin Eagle-hunter and deal 4 damage (5 / 5), destroying it. I trigger Legolas’ Response, placing 2 progress on Dark-wood Grove (4 / 4), exploring it. I trigger Blade of Gondolin’s Response, placing 1 progress on the quest. I play Foe-hammer, exhausting Bow of the Galadhrim to draw Silvan TrackerLembas, and Heed the Dream.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 35.

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (11 / 20).

Turn 4: Stage 1 (1 / 8)

Resource: I draw Daeron’s Runes. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Lore of Imladris, Silvan Tracker, Lembas, Heed the Dream, Daeron’s Runes)

Planning: I spend 2 from Aragorn and 1 from Argalad to play Silvan Tracker.

Quest: I commit Silvan Tracker, Aragorn, Argalad, and Wilyador to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Athelas, which is Guarded by Exhaustion, a Treachery which deals 2 damage to each exhausted character: Silvan Tracker (2 / 3), Aragorn (3 / 5), Argalad (2 / 4), and Wilyador (12 / 20). (Staging area: Rhosgobel) I exhaust Legolas to attach Athelas to him. 6 willpower – 1 threat = 5 progress

Travel: I cannot travel to Rhosgobel due to its Travel effect.

No Enemies.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 36. Silvan Tracker heals 1 from each Silvan character: Silvan Tracker (1 / 3), Argalad (1 / 4).

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (14 / 20).

Turn 5: Stage 1 (6 / 8)

Resource: I draw Daeron’s Runes. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Lore of Imladris, Lembas, Heed the Dream, Daeron’s Runes, Daeron’s Runes)

Planning: I spend 1 from Argalad to attach a second copy of Lembas to Aragorn.

Quest: I commit Silvan Tracker, Aragorn, Argalad, and Wilyador to the quest. I discard one copy of Lembas from Aragorn to ready him and heal 3 damage (0 / 5).

Staging: I reveal Swarming Insects, a Treachery which deals 1 damage to each character without attachments: Silvan Tracker (2 / 3). (Staging area: Rhosgobel) 6 willpower – 1 threat = 5 progress, advancing to Stage 2

Travel: I travel to Rhosgobel, which lifts the ban on healing Wilyador. I spend 1 from Argalad and 1 from Aragorn to play Lore of Imladris, healing 1 from Wilyador (13 / 20) and discarding the Noxious Supplies attached to him, as per the rules on Noxious Supplies.

No Enemies.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 37. Silvan Tracker heals 1 from each Silvan character: Silvan Tracker (1 / 3), Argalad (0 / 4)

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (15 / 20).

Turn 6: Stage 2 (0 / 12)

radagasts-request-2b

Resource: I draw Galadhrim Minstrel. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Heed the Dream, Daeron’s Runes, Daeron’s Runes, Galadhrim Minstrel)

Planning: I play Daeron’s Runes to draw Silvan Tracker and Goblin-cleaver and discard the other copy of Daeron’s Runes. I exhaust Argalad and discard Healing Herbs from him to heal 5 damage on Wilyador (10 / 20).

Quest: I commit Silvan Tracker and Aragorn to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Swarming Insects, a Treachery which deals 1 damage to each character without attachments: Silvan Tracker (2 / 3), Argalad (1 / 4), Wilyador (11 / 20). (Staging area: empty) 3 willpower – 0 threat = 3 progress on Rhosgobel

swarming-insects

Travel: Rhosgobel is the Active Location.

No Enemies.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 38. Silvan Tracker heals 1 from each Silvan character: Silvan Tracker (1 / 3), Argalad (0 / 4)

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (13 / 20).

Turn 7: Stage 2 (0 / 12)

Resource: I draw Blade of Gondolin. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Heed the Dream, Galadhrim Minstrel, Silvan Tracker, Goblin-cleaver, Blade of Gondolin)

Planning: I play 1 from Aragorn for Heed the Dream, which lets me search the top 5 cards of my deck for Healing Herbs. I attach Healing Herbs to Argalad.

Quest: I commit Silvan Tracker and Aragorn to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Black Forest Bats, a Creature Enemy which Surges into Great Forest Web. (Staging area: Black Forest Bats, Great Forest Web) 3 willpower – 3 threat = 0 progress

Travel: Rhosgobel is the Active Location.

Encounter: I engage Black Forest Bats.

Combat: I take the attack from Black Forest Bats undefended (Shadow: Dol Guldur Orcs, which gives them +3 attack) dealing 4 damage to Aragorn (4 / 5). I use Legolas to attack the Black Forest Bats, dealing 4 damage (4 / 2), destroying them. I trigger Blade of Gondolin’s Response to put 1 progress on Rhosgobel, exploring it. I trigger Legolas’ Response to put 2 progress on the quest. I discard Healing Herbs and exhaust Argalad to heal 5 from Wilyador (8 / 20).

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 39. Silvan Tracker heals 1 from each Silvan character: Silvan Tracker (0 / 3), Argalad (0 / 4)

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (10 / 20).

Turn 8: Stage 2 (2 / 12)

Resource: I draw Athelas. (Hand: Waters of Nimrodel, Galadhrim Minstrel, Silvan Tracker Goblin-cleaver, Blade of Gondolin, Athelas)

Planning: I spend 2 from Aragorn to play Galadhrim Minstrel, which lets me search the top 5 cards of my deck for Lore of Imladris. I spend 1 from Aragorn and 2 from Argalad and raise my threat by 3 to 42 to play Waters of Nimrodel, healing 4 damage from Aragorn (0 / 5) and 5 from Wilyador (5 / 10).

Quest: I commit Silvan Tracker, Galadhrim Minstrel, Argalad, Aragorn, and Wilyador to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Pitch-dark Thicket. (Staging area: Great Forest Web, Pitch-dark Thicket) 7 willpower – 6 threat = 1 progress

Travel: I travel to Pitch-dark Thicket.

No Enemies.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 43. I trigger Aragorn’s ability, resetting my threat to 30.

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (7 / 20).

Turn 9: Stage 2 (3 / 12)

Resource: I draw Deep Knowledge. (Hand: Silvan Tracker, Goblin-cleaver, Blade of Gondolin, Athelas, Lore of Imladris)

Planning: I raise my threat by 2 to 32 to play Deep Knowledge, drawing Galadhrim Minstrel and Heed the Dream. I spend 1 from Aragorn to play Heed the Dream to search the top 5 cards of my deck for Song of Wisdom. I spend 1 from Legolas to attach Song of Wisdom to him. I spend 2 from Legolas to play Lore of Imladris, healing 5 damage from Wilyador (2 / 20). I spend 2 from Legolas and 1 from Argalad to play Silvan Tracker.

Quest: I commit both Silvan Trackers, Galadhrim Minstrel, Argalad, Aragorn, and Wilyador to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Treetop Bird-eater, a Creature Enemy which Surges into Black Forest Bats. (Staging area: Great Forest Web, Treetop Bird-eater, Black Forest Bats) 8 willpower – 5 threat = 3 progress, 2 on Pitch-dark Thicket (2 / 2), exploring it, and 1 on the quest

Travel: I choose not to travel.

Encounter: I engage Treetop Bird-eater and Black Forest Bats.

Combat: I take the attack from Treetop Bird-eater undefended (Shadow: Goblin Eagle-hunter, which deals 2 damage to Wilyador [4 / 20]), dealing 4 damage to Aragorn (4 / 5). I take the attack from Black Forest Bats undefended (Shadow: Athelas, which I shuffle back into the encounter deck), dealing 1 damage to Argalad (1 / 4). I discard Lembas from Aragorn to ready him (but I cannot heal him due to the effect on Treetop bird-eater). I play Goblin-cleaver and exhaust Bow of the Galadhrim to deal 2 damage to Treetop Bird-eater (2 / 5). I exhaust Aragorn and Legolas to attack Treetop bird-eater, dealing 4 damage (6 / 5), destroying it.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 33. Each Silvan Tracker heals 1 from each Silvan character: Argalad (0 / 4)

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (6 / 20).

Turn 10: Stage 2 (4 / 12)

Resource: I draw Wingfoot. (Hand: Blade of Gondolin, Athelas, Galadhrim Minstrel, Wingfoot)

Planning: I spend 2 from Legolas to play Galadhrim Minstrel, who lets me search the top 5 cards of my deck for The Evening Star. I spend 1 from Argalad to attach Athelas to Aragorn.

Quest: I commit both Silvan Trackers, both Galadhrim Minstrels, and Argalad to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Labyrinthine Woods. (Staging area: Great Forest Web, Labyrinthine Woods) 6 willpower – 4 threat = 2 progress

Travel: I travel to Labyrinthine Woods. I exhaust Aragorn and discard Athelas from him to heal 5 on Wilyador (1 / 20).

Encounter: Currently engaged with Black Forest Bats.

Combat: I take the attack from Black Forest Bats undefended, dealing 1 damage to Argalad. I exhaust Legolas to attack Black Forest Bats, dealing 4 damage (4 / 2), destroying it. I trigger the Responses on Legolas and Blade of Gondolin to place 3 progress on the quest.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 34. Each Silvan Tracker heals 1 from each Silvan character: Argalad (0 / 4)

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (3 / 20).

Turn 11: Stage 2 (9 / 12)

Resource: I draw Silvan Tracker. (Hand: Blade of Gondolin, Wingfoot, The Evening Star, Silvan Tracker)

Planning: I spend 2 from Aragorn and 1 from Legolas to play Silvan Tracker. I spend 1 from Legolas to play Wingfoot on Aragorn.

Quest: I commit all 3 Silvan Trackers, both Galadhrim Minstrels, Argalad, and Aragorn (naming “Enemy” for Wingfoot) to the quest.

Staging: I reveal Dark-wood Grove. (Staging area: Great Forest Web, Dark-wood Grove) 9 willpower – 6 threat = 3 progress, 2 of which goes on Labyrinthine Woods (2 / 2), exploring it, 1 on the quest

Travel: I exhaust Legolas to travel to Great Forest Web.

No Enemies.

Refresh: I raise my threat by 1 to 35.

End of round: I deal 2 damage to Wilyador (5 / 20).

Turn 12: Stage 2 (10 / 12)

Resource: I draw Hands Upon the Bow. (Hand: Blade of Gondolin, The Evening Star, Hands Upon the Bow)

Planning: I play nothing.

Quest: I commit all 3 Silvan Trackers, both Galadhrim Minstrels, Argalad, and Aragorn (naming “Enemy” for Wingfoot) to the quest.

Staging: I reveal King Spider, a Creature Enemy which exhausts Wilyador and Surges into Black Forest Bats. (Staging area: Dark-wood Grove, King Spider, Black Forest Bats) I spend 1 from Legolas to play Hands Upon the Bow, exhausting Legolas to attack King Spider and deal 5 damage (5 / 3), destroying it. I trigger Legolas’ Response to place 2 progress on Great Forest Web (2 / 2), exploring it. I trigger the Response on Blade of Gondolin to place 1 progress on the quest. 9 willpower – 7 threat = 2 progress on the quest, completing it.

The next stage heals Wilyador 5 for the 1 Athelas Objective I collected (0 / 20). Victory!return-to-rhosgobel-3b

3 thoughts on “Play Report: A Journey to Rhosgobel

  1. On turn 9, Aragorn couldn’t heal with the lembas because of the treetop bird-eater’s ability. It didn’t seem to matter in the end, but I thought you might like to know. This was a really interesting article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

